Winter River Scene

The 6th
Taxing District

Garbage Schedule for the 6th Taxing District Residents

Bayley Beach Parking Permit Applications

Newly Amended Bayley Beach Rules and Regulations

Financial Statements and Supplementary Information Year Ended June 30, 2012 with Independent Auditor's Report


History: The Sixth Taxing District is a State-chartered municipal corporation which encompasses the area once an independent municipality, Rowayton. It was formed when Rowayton became a part of the City of Norwalk in the 1920s. The Sixth Taxing District was created to permit residents of this new part of Norwalk to provide services which the City of Norwalk was not prepared to provide.

Method: The Sixth District's affairs are governed by a three member Commission. Each is elected to a six-year term. Commissioners are placed on the ballot for election by the process identified in the Norwalk City Charter, typically by nomination by the registered political parties. As a commission, at least one member of the Commission must be of a different political party affiliation.

The Commission meets monthly on the second Wednesday evening of each month, at 8:00 p.m. in the Community Center, located on Highland Avenue in Rowayton, which also houses the Rowayton Library. The public is welcome at any meeting. Any elector of the Sixth District can request that an item be placed on the Agenda of a meeting by contacting the District Clerk or one of the Commissioners at least 10 days before the meeting. Items brought to the floor of the meeting which are not on the Agenda published in advance of the meeting may not be capable of Commission action at the meeting.

The Commission establishes a proposed budget for the fiscal year (running from July 1 to June 30) at its January meeting, and this is presented to the Annual Meeting of the electors of the District each March.

Functions: Over the years, the Sixth Taxing District has assumed responsibilities to provide street lighting, garbage collection, fire service, library services, and the management of community properties, including Bayley Beach, Pinkney Park, the Arts Center and the Community Center. Many of these activities are further operated by volunteer organizations, such as the Rowayton Volunteer Fire Department and the Rowayton Library Board.

These activities are funded by revenues to the District and taxation, which are added to and incorporated in the municipal tax bill of the City of Norwalk. Because of the volunteer management of the Library, Fire Department and Art Center, these services are provided at a significantly lower cost than typical public financing. Garbage collection is performed under a contract with an out-sourced provider, also at a lower than typical cost for a public-funded function.

2014 – District Meetings Minutes:

Past Years' Minutes Click HERE

January 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm ~ Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

March 5, 2014 @ 8:00pm ~ Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

May 15, 2014 @ 8:00pm ~Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

2014 Annual Meeting ~ Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

2014 Annual Budget Meeting ~ Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

April 9, 2014 @ 8:00pm ~ Agenda
Approved Actions ~ Minutes ~Treasurer's Report

Meeting notices & agendas are posted prior to each meeting at Norwalk City Hall, Rowayton Library and the RCA website.  Meeting dates are also published in The Norwalk Citizen-News, The Darien News Review and The Hour. All District meetings, unless otherwise noted, commence at 8:00 p.m. at the Community Center, 33 Highland Ave. and are open to the public

Past Years' Minutes Click HERE

Commission Contact Information

Commissioner Michael Barbis, 838-7887 November 20011 - November 2017

Commissioner Tammy Langalis*, 854-5116 November 2007 - November 2013

Commissioner John E. Igneri, 838-2308 November 2009 - November 2015

*Commission Chairperson

Property Mgr./Fire Marshal: Ed Carlson -- Tel: 838-1650, Fax: 854-1064

District Administrator: Jack Robson -- Tel: 866-6386, Cell: 246-7434

Sixth Taxing District Treasurer: John Verel -- Tel: 854-5427, Fax: 854-9404

Sixth Taxing District Clerk: Andrea Woodworth -- Tel: 854-5066  (Re:  Agenda items, Rental/Use of District Property, District Calendar, Bayley Beach applications for 2010 available in April 2010 )

District Railroad Clerk: Andrea Woodworth -- Tel: 854-5066  (Re:  Annual Railroad Permits, Railroad waiting list)

Please send District correspondence to:

Sixth Taxing District
P.O. Box 246

Rowayton, CT. 06853