Where the Crawdads Sing

Where the Crawdads Sing by Delia Owens is a debut novel that tells the story of a young girl abandoned at a frighteningly young age to raise herself in the North Carolina marshlands she knows as home. The “Marsh Girl” is a creature of her environment and while uneducated and illiterate she manages to survive, and ultimately attract the attention of two very different young men. The author skillfully interweaves stunning passages about the denizens of the marsh with her survival strategies and maturation. It is a page-turner despite some clichés, mostly in the descriptions of the supporting characters. For fans of Barbara Kingsolver and Southern writers.